Photo Challenge – Outline

The topic of this week’s photo challenge is OUTLINE. As the week progressed, I had no visual example of OUTLINE. My daughters and I were meeting in New York City on Wednesday for wedding dress shopping, and I hoped to find inspiration there.

The last day of our visit, my OUTLINE emerged. We visited the World Trade Center Memorial, admiring first one sculpture, then another. The pool memorials are particularly striking, with each bearing the names of the victims around the edges. The information is presented in two forms; the dates are raised letters, and the names are depressed, leaving behind the OUTLINE of each letter.

IMG_6493 (1)

It was an emotional visit to the memorial site, and how fortuitous to find my OUTLINE there!

Thanks to the lovely ladies who created this challenge:

Cathy from Nanacathydotcom

Jane from Rainbowjunkiecorner

Melissa from The Aran Artisan

Sandra from Wild Daffodil

 

 

 

13 thoughts on “Photo Challenge – Outline

  1. Perfect for OUTLINE. I was there 7 years ago when the Memorial was under construction. Despite all the cranes and noise and machinery there seemed such a stillness in the atmosphere. The Memorials seem to capture that as far as I can tell. I am glad to see your photos and hope to return one day.

    Liked by 1 person

    • It is a remarkable place, and there is definitely a stillness – that’s the perfect word for it. Very somber and reverent. I hope you’re able to return; after having seen the beginning progress, you’ll be amazed with the magnificent finished memorial.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Photo Challenge Round Up: Outline | Wild Daffodil

  3. It is always nice, and important, to visit these sites. I found the German war graves (untended, ignored, overgrown) very moving, especially compared to those of the Allies. Yesterday I saw the memorial to American soldiers in St Paul’s cathedral. It always makes you stop to think. Thank you for your interesting post, as ever.

    Liked by 1 person

Your comments make my day....

