Sunday Sevens – Week 76

Today’s Sunday Sevens is a little different, serving to explain about my recent absence around the blogosphere. Please check out Natalie’s site, Threads and Bobbins to see what the Sevens are all about.

My sister dubbed December the “Month of Yes”. The Month of Yes was dedicated to enjoying all tasty goodness of the holiday season (it really began in November and ended in January, but let’s not quibble about a few days).

After  enjoying TMOY to its maximum and managing the first month of the new year, February has produced what I’ve dubbed the “Week of No”. In fact, there have been three such weeks resulting in either limited or NO progress in sewing, projects, exercise, cello practicing, my List of 16, photos, or blogging-reading, commenting or posting. Good grief!

The conspirators? A fender-bender in the bank parking lot. I pulled into an empty space, and as I had nearly completed parking, the truck next to me began to pull out. Yes, right into my right front fender and wheel well. Curses. Off we go to the collision department. I am stuck without a vehicle at home when hubby takes the truck to work.

In addition to lack of transportation, we are housebound due to a major snowstorm that dropped eighteen inches of snow. Mom and I exercise indoors, referring to our sessions as our “Knees Up, Mother Browns”.IMG_6188

You can see our little front fence before the snow storm….

IMG_6223

and a few hours later. Withing an hour after this photo, fence was entirely covered.

IMG_6231

Tough times bring out good people. Our generous next door neighbor and his snowblower cleared driveways and sidewalks for four of the adjacent homes. He made three passes for each of us.

IMG_6233

I didn’t have pen and paper handy for phone numbers when same neighbor and another offered help with snow or transportation while husband was in hospital and after bringing him home. What? Did you read that correctly? Yes. My dear hubby slipped on the basement stairs and ruptured the quadricept tendon nearly completely. Surgery performed, a full length leg cast administered, patient finally released and hospital bed delivered. A very long recovery is predicted. Sigh.

IMG_6273

My sad, empty makeshift sewing basket. It’s very tiny, the bottom is about 3″ by 6″, and in this picture you can’t see all the holes and “pointy” parts. Wouldn’t it be lovely to have a new one?

IMG_6194

Oooh, there just might be a new post coming up regarding said basket.

Hoping to get back to some normalcy very soon. Sewing projects are gathered, washed, ready and waiting. In the meantime I’m just trying to stay focused on each moment, and keep myself healthy and strong for everyone else.

Wishing you all a week ahead with no trauma, and lots of progress and joy!

 

 

 

 

 

25 thoughts on “Sunday Sevens – Week 76

  1. That’s an awful lot to cope with! Life sure has a way of testing our strength, doesn’t it? I hope things get a little bit less exciting soon and that you’re able to have some “me” time with your sewing–I bet you need it!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Note to self: never submit a post when sunny mood is hiding. In spite of my complaints, things are going well, thank you! Hubby up and about, and a simple trip to the market made vast headway with mama’s cabin fever. As for moi? Well I’m embarrassed to have been so whiney. And have made a point to re-establish a sewing spot and just get on with it! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Goodness, Jen, had no idea you’d been having such a time this month. Wish I were a bit closer & could lend a helping hand. How wonderful to have a neighbour with a snow blower and a kind heart! Let me know if there’s anything I can do long distance. Meanwhile will send good thoughts up north! xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s been a bit challenging, but my moment of morose has passed! All is well, improvements every day. What a sweet offer, Del….if you were closer I’d suely take you up on it! Kindness abounds, and I’m so thankful. On we go…. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m sorry you’ve been having such a time of it. It sounds as if your poor husband really did a number on himself. Will he be able to work from home at all? If not I hope he works for a very understanding company. The snow doesn’t help does it? I love to see it from a distance but I like it to stay there and remain just below the snow line ourselves which, so far this year, is what has happened. I hope you and your Mum can stay fit with your knees ups and, surely, being housebound is the perfect excuse for a bit of sewing therapy isn’t it?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Lynn, it’s all been so silly. And yes, he really did do it up; the surgeon complimented him on the thoroughness of destruction to the tendon and surrounding tissue.
      I do love the snow, but don’t love being cold. And it’s been a very mild winter, so this snowfall was actually quite welcome. Staying in for days was rough on mom, though, so I’m getting her out a bit now, and it’s made a world of difference.
      My old temporary sewing spot (the dining room) is being transferred to a new temporary spot (the laundry room or empty “blue” room) and I’ll be ensconced for sewing time by end of week! Hooray!

      Like

  4. It has to get better now, doesn’t it? I think you have had more than your share of aggravation and life must calm down and become nice again. Be kind to yourself during this time – you will be able to laugh about it eventually 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, it’s better already! Thank you for your encouraging words, Kim. It is pretty laughable watching us skirt around each other in varying stages of “wellness”, as it were. But sunny days ahead, both literally and figuratively, and we’ll be out and about.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Life really does like to throw more than one challenge at a time. Great to hear though that you have good neighbours – they really are worth their weight in gold. Hope your hubby’s mending well and that from here on in this year’s going to treat you more kindly.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Goodness you have had a lot to deal with haven’t you. I hope it all gets better soon. Its always nice to find out you have nice neighbours, especially in times of need.
    Sounds like you need a little bit of sewing therapy.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, it is getting better already. Perhaps some bumps as we go along, but all is well. The neighbors are wonderful folk, we can all lean on each other, which is tremendous.
      Sewing therapy! Yes indeed, and it is coming. Yay! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Well the snow is magnificent and you are surviving. I didn’t think you sounded like you were complaining – just that you had a lot on your plate. I get the feeling that many of us who sew do it partly as an escape, and partly because we can have some control (if though it is challenging to get it right). Anyway I am glad things are getting better already and I send you my love and support.

    Liked by 1 person

    • You are a dear one, Kate, very kind words. The sewing has been frustratingly slow getting started….feeling rather fragmented I guess. But my machine is in its new (temporary) location, and it will soon be a productive little haven!

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Not a great start to February, but at least it is behind you. From being late to the party I can read that things are looking up. Hope hubby’s recovery is as swift as possible, and thank goodness for kind neighbours. I’m hoping my new glasses, due here next week, will enable me to get back to more productivity in the sewing department.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Pingback: Empty sewing basket gone. Enter the sewing box. | Let the Sewing Begin

Your comments make my day....

